What Happens If You’re Arrested for a DUI in Myrtle Beach South Carolina
A DUI or driving under the influence in South Carolina is a broad concept, and there are three instances wherein a driver can be booked for a DUI in Myrtle Beach. The first instance is when a driver is found under the influence of alcohol while driving which can impair the ability to drive safely. The second instance is when a driver is under the influence of drugs or mixture of drugs which can impair safe driving ability. The third instance is when a driver is under the influence of alcohol and drugs causing considerable and striking impairment of a driver’s ability to drive. A driving with unlawful alcohol concentration or DUAC is pretty similar to DUI, which is considered if your blood concentration levels are above 0.8% or more. In Myrtle Beach, if you are able to pass the sobriety tests that the law enforcer administers on the scene with a BAC of less than 0.8% then you won’t be arrested for DUI.
It is always a good idea contacting a DUI lawyer if you are arrested for DUI or DUAC. There is a similar punishment for DUI and DUAC in South Carolina, and the charge won’t be removed from your record. In order to avoid being convicted with a DUI or to get the lightest sentence possible, you have to ensure that a DUI lawyer is always available to help you. The conviction of DUI in South Carolina involves an evidence showing that you were substantially and noticeably impaired from driving, whereas a BAC of higher than 0.8% results to a DUAC conviction. Although the first two convictions are considered as a misdemeanor, it will result in a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license, and possible application of ignition interlock device. Also expect a mandatory prison time for a BAC of 0.8% and 0.10% with a minimum prison time of 2 days up to 30 days, 3 to 30 days for a BAC of 0.10% and 0.16%, and between 30 to 90 days for a BAC above 0.16%. Based on the result of your BAC, the fines usually range from $400 to $1000, and you can avoid prison time by doing community service. In South Carolina, you will need to have a costly car insurance on the R-22 form coming that come from the DMV if you’re arrested and convicted for DUI. Your succeeding DUI arrests and convictions will be greatly influenced by your first conviction for a span of ten years.
You need to hire a trusted, reliable, reputable, and experienced DUI attorney such as T. Kirk Truslow P.A. to legally represent you and help you get the lightest sentence possible, and avoid conviction. Remember that the DUI is permanently marked on your record, so even if your DUI is a misdemeanor case, you have to hire an experienced DUI lawyer in Myrtle Beach to avoid future major legal problem.